Relearning how to shower and bathe with POTS

Before getting diagnosed with POTS, I took many everyday occurrences and daily tasks for granted, knowing I could accomplish them without thinking about them. I never considered the intricacies of showering, walking, emptying the dishwasher, driving, eating, getting out of bed, or changing positions, until they became challenging or downright impossible, at least on some days.

There are so many processes that our autonomic nervous systems regulate. Again, I didn’t realize how much until my body could no longer reliably regulate its temperature, heart rate, blood pressure, breathing, or digestion. And trust me, it is devastating when your body seemingly stops working one day.

When I first suspected I had POTS and was soon diagnosed with it, showering was one of the most laborious and terrifying tasks because I was so scared I’d black out in the shower, or my heart rate would get dangerously high. So I had to re-learn how to complete one of life’s most ordinary tasks: bathing. Before I had a shower stool, I used to sit on the shower floor and bring the shower wand down to the floor with me. Trust me, that is not comfortable, but it is safer if you’re afraid of falling. For about a month, I was too petrified to shower if no one was home or within shouting distance of the bathroom door, so I would wait until I knew my husband was around and could rush in if I needed help. I got in the habit of announcing that I was going to take a shower so that he would know to come and check on me if I was gone for too long. It’s disempowering to have your independence stripped away to the point where ordinary activities become safety hazards. So I spent hours on YouTube and Google researching how to shower with POTS; I’m nothing if not a problem solver, or at least I try to be. One beneficial video by @ThePrettyPOTsie mentioned the necessity of a shower stool and how it provided her security and stability. Once I got my shower seat – an early birthday present from my parents – it was much easier to feel safe showering as I could sit while shampooing and conditioning my hair, shaving, and using body wash. I learned to tilt my head forward and hold it upside down to wash my hair, so my arms wouldn’t go above my head, sometimes even using one arm at a time to reduce the likelihood of tachycardia. Now, I’m a little more stable, I usually take standing showers, but it gives me a peace of mind knowing the shower stool is there if I need it, especially on flare days. Today was one of those days that I needed the extra support, and if you find yourself in that position where you’re wondering if you should sit down, you probably should. There’s no shame in using a disability aid to make your life easier or allow you to save energy for something later in the day.

To this day, I can’t get dressed immediately after showering, throw on clothes, apply make-up, and style my hair. To prevent a huge heart rate spike, I wrap my hair in a hair towel, grab my deodorant and clothes, and shuffle myself over to the bed, where I sit on the edge, slowly getting dressed, starting with my ever-essential compression socks. Once I am dressed, I go back into the bathroom and finish getting ready, but the whole process takes at least double the time. If it’s a terrible day and showering is extremely triggering, I lay on the bed with my legs elevated and wrapped in my towel, waiting for my heart rate to go down before I even attempt to get dressed.

What I have learned from my experience with POTS and showering is that I am adaptable and that it’s okay for my daily needs to look different. Some days no matter how many shower aids I have in my arsenal, getting in the shower isn’t in the cards for me, and that’s okay. I have had to learn hacks for getting clean on days I have minimal spoons, an elevated heart rate, minimal time, or all three. I’ve learned from experience that sometimes it’s best not to push myself and to adjust my expectations of myself. Some of my hacks and favorite products on non-showering, non-bath days flare days are using body wipes, dry shampoo or a curl refresher spray, and a comfort glide razor for a quick underarm shave.

I used to feel self-conscious or ashamed that I couldn’t throw myself in the shower to wake myself up and quickly get ready, but now that I understand my body and its limits, I am kinder to myself, though it’s a work in progress. I am doing the best I can with the energy I have each day, and that’s okay. Some days that looks like staying in pajamas and throwing on a hat or tying up my hair. On other days that looks like using body wipes and dry shampoo and changing my outfit. On high-pain days that might look like soaking in an Epsom salt bath to help reduce the discomfort. And on good days, that looks like taking a standing or seated shower. If you are struggling with learning how to navigate life’s basic necessities and routines right now because of POTS, know that you are not alone. As I did, you will learn from others and experience what works best for you.

Leave a comment