How I Survive My Flare Days

Flare days are terrible, and it’s easy to get caught in a negative thought spiral, believing that this pain will last at this intensity forever and will never get better. It’s hard to remember the “good days” and low symptom days at the height of a flare, so instead, these are my rules for surviving those days:

  1. Hydrate. Add some electrolyte powder or fruit to my water to make it tastier. Put several pre-filled water bottles next to my nightstand so that the water is right there when I wake up in the morning. And if I can’t get out of bed for several hours, I will still have plenty of water to drink.
  1. Bathe in a way that feels feasible and realistic today. This can range from using dry shampoo and body wipes, taking a bath, sitting in the shower, or taking a standing shower with or without washing my hair. 
  1. Move my body in the way that it can handle today. That may look like somatic movements, an after-dinner walk, stretching, light physical therapy exercises, or moving from my bed to the couch. 
  1. Read something to occupy my mind – an encouraging letter from a friend, an article about someone else with a chronic illness, a book. If I don’t have the focus to read, put on a feel-good podcast or put an audiobook on a sleep-timer. 
  1. Eat – it doesn’t matter if the food is homemade, pre-made, frozen, packaged, DoorDash, or takeout. Just eat something! 
  1. Take my medicine and vitamins! If it’s too much to take in one sitting, break it up throughout the day. 
  1. Listen to some music – depending on what my body needs at the time that could be a feel-good mix to dance it out to or a calming mix that allows me to cry it out and release some pent-up emotions.
  1. Reach out to a trusted person. Having a code word or a phrase to cue them in that I’m struggling, such as a raincloud emoji or “I’m sad today, and I wanted someone to know.” Remember that shame and pain thrive when I spin on it. Let someone in so they can help me carry this load.
  1. Remind myself that I’m doing the best I can and that this current level of pain and agony will pass. 

Leave a comment